Defiant Keshi Names Austrian Bundesliga Bench Warmer , Sunday Emmanuel And Inactive Michael Babatunde In Roster

Published: October 31, 2014
Defiant Keshi Names Austrian Bundesliga Bench Warmer , Sunday Emmanuel And Inactive Michael Babatunde In RosterReinstated coach of the Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi, has started work immediately by unveiling the nominated players for back - to - back African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Congo and South Africa.

An analysis of the squad list revealed that three goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders and nine attackers will jostle to make the 18 - man squad for the Super Eagles first game against Congo on November 15.

The headline name in the roster released on Friday is Villarreal striker Ikechukwu Uche, who last represented Nigeria at the 2013 Afcon,  while Nasarawa United midfielder Tony Edjomari is in line to make his official debut for the African champions.

Keshi has kept faith with Austrian Bundesliga bench warmer Sunday Emmanuel, who has only 130 minutes of game time under his belt this season while inactive Michael Babatunde, who has not dressed for Volyn for more than one month made the cut.

The regular first choice defenders - Efe Ambrose, Elderson Echiejile, Godfrey Oboabona and Kenneth Omeruo - have totaled 23 appearances between them in their various leagues out of a possible 43, a percentage of 53.5 percent.

The chosen players will start arriving at the Bolton White Apartments, Wuse, Abuja as from Sunday, November 9.

Nigeria Squad

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United, Nigeria)
Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco FC, France); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria)
Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Hope Akpan (Reading FC, England); Raheem Lawal (Eskisehirspor FC, Turkey); Omatsone Aluko (Hull City, England); Tony Edjomari (Nasarawa United, Nigeria)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Osaguona Ighodaro (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Ikechukwu Uche (Villareal FC, Spain); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R&F, China); Sunday Emmanuel (SV Scholz Grodig, Austria); Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine): Emem Eduok (Dolphins FC, Nigeria)

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories