Premier League Winner's Medal: Man City's Adarabioyo & Nmecha In The Same Boat As Mikel, Aina, Tomori

Published: April 16, 2018
 Premier League Winner's Medal: Man City's Adarabioyo & Nmecha In The Same Boat As Mikel, Aina, TomoriBy Sunday, April 22, Manchester City's Nigerian duo Tosin Adarabioyo and Lukas Nmecha will discover if they stand a chance of receiving Premier League winners' medals.

Pep Guardiola's Manchester City were crowned champions on Sunday after West Brom's 1-0 win at Manchester United, it means the Citizens have an unassailable 16-point lead over their nearest challengers with five games remaining.

While Adarabioyo has made the match day squad six times for Premier League matches, Nmecha has made the 18 just twice against Leicester and Everton, meaning the duo MUST be fielded in all City's remaining games to get a winners' medal.

Guardiola has a difficult decision to make, whether to give the fringe players like Adarabioyo a run-out in the next five matches or chase the Premier League record for most points in a season (95) currently held by Chelsea, which they set back in the 2004-2005 season.

Adarabioyo and Nmecha are in the same boat as John Obi Mikel, Ola Aina, Tammy Abraham, Dominic Solanke and Fikayo Tomori who missed out on a Premier League medal despite Chelsea winning the title last season.

The Nigeria captain fell out of favour after returning from the Olympic Games and didn't play any Premier League game, Aina made only three appearances and Tomori none before he was loaned out to Brighton in January 2017.

Solanke found himself frozen out of the first-team picture after refusing to sign a new deal, making the match day squad once vs Leicester and Abraham spent the whole of the season on loan at Bristol City.

List Of Nigerians With Premier League Winner's Medal

Nwankwo Kanu : 2001–02, 2003–04
Obi Mikel : 2009-10, 2014-15
Victor Moses : 2016-17

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

Photo Credit :

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories