Liverpool Goalkeeper Opens Up On Chelsea Penalty Won By Abraham In Extra Time
Published: August 15, 2019
Liverpool Goalkeeper Opens Up On Chelsea Penalty Won By Abraham In Extra Time
Liverpool goalkeeper Adrian has confessed that he made contact with Tammy Abraham before Chelsea were awarded a penalty by referee Stephanie Frappart in the UEFA Super Cup on Wednesday.

A moment of controversy arrived in the first half of extra-time when Abraham fell down in the area but the French official did not hesitate in pointing to the spot.

Jorginho converted the spot kick in the 101st minute which eventually took the game to a shootout.

Speaking to BT Sport post-match, Adrian said : ''To be fair I tried to stop. The attacker was intelligent. He was looking for that.

''I think I touched him and he touched me. It doesn't matter. We need to enjoy tonight.''

Another hotly contested decision in the UEFA Super Cup was the decisive spot kick taken by Abraham which was saved by Adrian.

Television images suggested that the Liverpool glovesman had both his feet off the line when the Chelsea number 9 struck the ball.

Igho Kingsley

Photo Credit : uefa.com
Get a job in Nigeria on MyJobMag
Latest News
News Categories