Ex-Arsenal striker, former Brighton star, Leicester defender named in Nigeria's 26-player squad for Austria camp
Published: July 15, 2021
Ex-Arsenal striker, former Brighton star, Leicester defender named in Nigeria's 26-player squad for Austria camp
The Nigeria Football Federation have announced a 26-player Super Falcons squad for an eight-day training camp in Austria as part of their preparations for the Aisha Buhari Invitational Women's Football Tournament.

Several dual-eligible players have been selected on the roster by manager Randy Waldrum.

Aside from FC Zurich defender Onyinyechi Zogg, West Virginia University's Nicole Payne and Houston Dash's Michelle Alozie, who shone at the 2021 Summer Series, the American football tactician will run the rule over former Arsenal striker now at Watford Adekite Fatuga-Dada, the Ijeh sisters and Leicester City star Megan Ashleigh during the training camp.

In a surprise move by the Nigerian Federation, FC Dijon's Desire Oparanozie has been recalled to the squad after two years in the international wilderness due to a pay strike she led at the 2019 Women's World Cup in France.

Former Brighton & Hove star Ini-Abasi Umotong is listed among the strikers.

An analysis of the roster revealed that four goalkeepers, nine defenders, four midfielders and nine strikers have been invited to the training camp, with twenty one of them based abroad.

Nigeria 26-player roster for training camp in Austria

Goalkeepers (4): Tochukwu Oluehi (CD Pozoalbense, Spain); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Oyinyechi Okeke (Bayelsa Queens); Yewande Balogun (California Storm, USA)

Defenders (9): Glory Ogbonna (Edo Queens); Osinachi Ohale (Madrid CFF, Spain); Esther Ogbonna (Edo Queens); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain); Onyinyechi Zogg (FC Zurich, Switzerland); Nicole Payne (West
Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Josephine Ijeh (BK Hacken, Sweden)

Midfielders (4): Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna United, Sweden); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Adekite Fatuga-Dada (Watford FC, England)

Forwards (9): Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Francisca Ordega (Levante UD, Spain); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Ebere Orji (Sundsvall DFF, Sweden); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Lewes FC, England); Evelyn Ijeh (BK Hacken, Sweden); Desire Oparanozie (FC Dijon, France)

Ifeanyi Emmanuel
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
Latest News
News Categories