Penalty not given : Genk hitman Onuachu not happy about referee's 'big boy' comments
Published: September 23, 2021
Penalty not given : Genk hitman Onuachu not happy about referee's 'big boy' comments
Paul Onuachu feels he should have been awarded a penalty during Racing Genk's 4-2 loss to Royal Antwerp in a Belgian First Division A clash on Wednesday.

No penalty was given to the away side after Dinis Almeida pushed Onuachu.

Referee Bram Van Driessche pointed out that the Nigeria international is a big player in terms of his physique - something that did not go down well with the Genk striker.

Onuachu bagged a brace in the defeat to Antwerp, the last goal coming from the spot after he was fouled by Almeida ten minutes from time.

Reacting to the first penalty incident and the loss to Antwerp, Onuachu said to Eleven Sports via vietbalbelgie : "Of course it was a penalty kick because I got a push. However, the refereeĀ  said: 'You are a big boy, that would be too easy.' That was just a penalty.

"We must be disappointed. We were concentrated for five minutes, that should be ninety."

With his brace last night, Onuachu has now tallied eight goals in total against Royal Antwerp since his arrival in Belgium in 2019 - more than any other team.

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

Copyright ANS

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from allnigeriasoccer.com
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
Latest News
News Categories