AFCONQ :  Two former Arsenal players, ex-Chelsea CB, Osimhen, 19 others named in Nigeria squad

Published: March 16, 2023
AFCONQ :  Two former Arsenal players, ex-Chelsea CB, Osimhen, 19 others named in Nigeria squad

The Nigeria Football Federation have announced a 23-man roster for the national team's upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Guinea-Bissau. 


An analysis of the squad list revealed that three goalkeepers, eight defenders, four midfielders and eight strikers have been summoned for the matches by manager Jose Peseiro. 


Rivers United goalkeeper  Victor Sochima, Kingsley Aniagboso, who kept four clean sheets at the recently concluded Africa U20 Cup of Nations in Egypt, and Flying Eagles captain Daniel Bameyi have been handed their first senior call-ups to Nigeria's national team.


Two former Arsenal players in the shape of Hale End product Alex Iwobi and ex-Gunners U21 skipper Semi Ajayi have both been named on the roster, while former Chelsea center back Kenneth Omeruo is making a return after he was left out of the friendly against Portugal last November. 


Peseiro has named an all-Premier League midfield featuring Leicester City's Wilfred Ndidi, Southampton's Joe Aribo, Brentford's Frank Onyeka and Everton's Iwobi. 


The roster is headlined by red-hot Napoli striker Victor Osimhen, who is the leading scorer in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers with five goals. 


Nigeria's 23-man roster for AFCONQ

Goalkeepers (3): Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)


Defenders (8): Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK, Turkey); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Calvin Bassey (FC Ajax, The Netherlands); Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)


Midfielders (4): Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)


Forwards (8): Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta BC, Italy); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England)   



Ifeanyi Emmanuel 


Copyright ANS

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories