2023 AFCONQ: Eight things to note on Super Eagles starting lineup against Sao Tome and Principe

Published: September 10, 2023
2023 AFCONQ: Eight things to note on Super Eagles starting lineup against Sao Tome and Principe

Super Eagles manager Jose Peseiro has announced his starting lineup for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match  against Sao Tome and Príncipe at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo.


Allnigeriasoccer.com's editorial staff  brings you eight things to note on the starting lineup to face The Falcons and True Parrots Team


1) The eleven players selected in the starting lineup have an average age of 25.27 years, with Semi Ajayi the oldest at 29 years and Calvin Bassey the youngest at 23 years.


2) Jose Peseiro has made eight changes to the side that defeated Sierra Leone on match day five. Semi Ajayi, Wilfred Ndidi, Victor Osimhen are the only survivors. 


3) Six players in the starting lineup are 25 and younger: Francis Uzoho (24), Calvin Bassey (23), Bruno Onyemaechi (24), Frank Onyeka (25), Ademola Lookman (25), Victor Osimhen (24)


4) Wilfred Ndidi captains the team today, with Ahmed Musa and Kenneth Omeruo unavailable for selection and William Troost-Ekong named on the substitutes bench. It's the second time the Leicester City midfielder will be wearing the armband in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. 


5) Calvin Bassey and Semi Ajayi partner in central defence for the second time in their international careers. The first was against Sao Tome and Príncipe last June. 


6) Goalkeeper Francis Uzoho starts his ninth game under Jose Peseiro, more than any other player named in today's matchday squad. 


7) Six players are products of Nigeria's youth teams: Uzoho, Ajayi, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Awoniyi, Osimhen.


8) Three substitutes could make their international debuts: goalkeeper Olorunleke Ojo, defender Jordan Torunarigha, striker Victor Boniface. 



Nigeria's starting lineup: Uzoho; Aina, Ajayi, Bassey, Onyemaechi; Ndidi, Onyeka, Iheanacho, Lookman; Awoniyi, Osimhen. 


Substitutes: Ekong, Simon, Aribo, Torunarigha, Ebuehi, Bonfice, Onyedika, Chukwueze, Adeleye, Ojo, Collins 





Ifeanyi Emmanuel 




Copyright ANS

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from allnigeriasoccer.com

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories