Imoh Ezekiel Nominated for Ebony Golden Shoe Award

Published: March 29, 2013
Imoh Ezekiel Nominated for Ebony Golden Shoe AwardStandard Liege striker Imoh Ezekiel is one of the five nominees for the Ebony Golden Shoe, an award given to the best player in the Belgian League with African roots.

The award, which is in its 22nd edition, is organized by the African Culture Promotion and RTL-TVi.

Past Nigerian winners of the award include Daniel Amokachi, Godwin Okpara, Celestine Babayaro and Victor Ikpeba.

 To clinch the award, 19 - year - old Ezekiel will compete with Dieumerci Mbokani (Anderlecht), Cheikhou Kouyate (Anderlecht), Ibou Sawaneh (OH Leuven) and  Mbaye Leye (Zulte Waregem).

The winner of the Golden Shoe will be announced on Monday, May 13 at a gala ceremony.

Imoh Ezekiel has notched 9 goals in his last 10 matches in the Jupiler League.

Previous Winners:
1992 : Daniel Amokachi (Nigeria, FC Bruges)
1993 : Viktor Ikpeba (Nigeria, RFC Liége)
1994 : Daniel Amokachi (Nigeria, FC Bruges)
1995 : Godwin Okpara (Nigeria, Alost)
1996 : Celestine Babayaro (Nigeria, Anderlecht)
1997 : Emile Mpenza (Belgium, Mouscron)
1998 : Eric Addo (Ghana, FC Bruges)
1999 : Souleymane Oulare (Guinée, RC Genk)
2000 : Nzelo Lembi (RD, FC Bruges)
2001 : Mido (Egypt, La Gantoise)
2002 : Moumouni Dagano (Burkina Faso, RC Genk)
2003 : Aruna Dindane (Côte d'Ivoire, Anderlecht)
2004 : Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Anderlecht)
2005 : Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Anderlecht)
2006 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, La Gantoise)
2007 : Mohamed Tchité (RD Congo, Anderlecht)
2008 : Marouane Fellaini (Belgium, Standard)
2009 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, Anderlecht)
2010 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, Anderlecht)
2011:  Romelu Lukaku (Belgium, Chelsea)
2012:  Dieumerci Mbokani (DR Congo, Anderlecht)

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories