Imoh Ezekiel Misses Out On Ebony Award

Published: May 13, 2013
Imoh Ezekiel Misses Out On Ebony AwardStandard Liege striker Imoh Ezekiel was voted the fourth best African player when the result for the Ebony Shoe, an award for the best colored player in the Belgian League, was announced on Monday night in a gala ceremony held at at Casino Viage in Brussels.

Senegalese attacker Mbaye Leye, who plies his trade with Zulte-Waregem, won the award. In second and third positions are Cheikhou Kouyate and past winner Dieumerci Mbokani of Anderlecht.

The other finalist for the award which is in its 22nd edition is OHL's Gambian forward
Sawaneh Ibou.

Past Nigerian winners of the award include Daniel Amokachi (twice), Victor Ikpeba, Godwin Okpara and Celestine Babayaro.

Previous Winners:
1992 : Daniel Amokachi (Nigeria, FC Bruges)
1993 : Viktor Ikpeba (Nigeria, RFC Liége)
1994 : Daniel Amokachi (Nigeria, FC Bruges)
1995 : Godwin Okpara (Nigeria, Alost)
1996 : Celestine Babayaro (Nigeria, Anderlecht)
1997 : Emile Mpenza (Belgium, Mouscron)
1998 : Eric Addo (Ghana, FC Bruges)
1999 : Souleymane Oulare (Guinée, RC Genk)
2000 : Nzelo Lembi (RD, FC Bruges)
2001 : Mido (Egypt, La Gantoise)
2002 : Moumouni Dagano (Burkina Faso, RC Genk)
2003 : Aruna Dindane (Côte d'Ivoire, Anderlecht)
2004 : Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Anderlecht)
2005 : Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Anderlecht)
2006 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, La Gantoise)
2007 : Mohamed Tchité (RD Congo, Anderlecht)
2008 : Marouane Fellaini (Belgium, Standard)
2009 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, Anderlecht)
2010 : Mbark Boussoufa (Morocco, Anderlecht)
2011:  Romelu Lukaku (Belgium, Chelsea)
2012: Dieumerci Mbokani (Congo, Anderlecht)
2013: Mbaye Leye (Senegal, Zulte-Waregem )

Latest News
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
News Categories