Nigeria squad announcement : Enyimba dazzler Iwuala headlines 25-player roster for Mexico friendly
Published: June 20, 2021
Nigeria squad announcement : Enyimba dazzler Iwuala headlines 25-player roster for Mexico friendly
The Nigeria Football Federation have announced a 25-play roster for the Super Eagles international friendly against Mexico at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, California, United States on July 4, 2021.

Manager Gernot Rohr has omitted his foreign-based stars from the squad list as most of them would be involved in pre-season activities with their European clubs.

Furthermore, European clubs are not obliged to release their players to the Nigerian Federation as the game is taking place outside the FIFA international match calendar.

Only footballers plying their trade in the Nigerian Professional Football League have been called up for the friendly.

The roster is headlined by Enyimba dazzler Anayo Iwuala while other notable invitees are Heartland's Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Enyimba's John Noble, Abia Warriors' Adekunle Adeleke and Rivers United's Ifeanyi Anaemena.

The Super Eagles have faced Mexico five times in the past, drawing four of the encounters and losing once.

The last meeting between the two countries was in Atlanta in 2014, when they played out a goalless draw.

Of the twenty five players named on the roster, three will be dropped before the trip to the United States.

Nigeria squad to face Mexico

Goalkeepers (2): Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); John Noble (Enyimba FC)

Defenders (10): Olisa Ndah (Akwa United); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors);Tope Olusesi (Rangers International);
Ifeanyi Anaemena (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Kwara United); Enyinnaya Kazie (Rivers United); Mohammed Zirkiflu (Plateau United); Imoh Ubot (Enyimba FC);Tebo Franklin Degaulle (Nasarawa United); Lawal Oriyomi Murtala (KwaraUnited)

Midfielders 5): Anthony Shimaga (Rangers International); Seth Mayi (Akwa United); Uche Nwasonaya (Plateau United); Samuel Nnoshiri (Katsina United); Ekundayo Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Forwards (8): Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Stephen Jude (Kwara United);Ibrahim Olawoyin (Rangers International); Charles Ashimene (Akwa United); Chinonso Eziekwe (Rangers International); Auwalu Ali Malam(Kano Pillars); Neurot Emmanuel (Plateau United); Abdulmutalif Sanusi(Katsina United)

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

Copyright ANS

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from
Hire the right candidates on MyJobMag
Latest News
News Categories